Astronomical League - Webmaster Award


The Astronomical League Board has approved the newest award to be handed out by the Astronomical League; it is the Webmaster Award. One award will be handed out each year to the Webmaster with the best club's web site. With the increased popularity of the Internet, the web site is an important asset to astronomy clubs. Most web sites are designed, administered and updated by the club's Webmaster. The purpose of the award is to acknowledge the club Webmaster who does an outstanding job of web site design and administration.



The Webmaster of any astronomy club that is a current member of the Astronomical League.


To Apply

The President of the astronomy club will submit the name of the Webmaster and the Website address before April 1.



The Website will be judged on the following.

  • Content
  • Ease of navigation
  • Ability to attract people



Each Website will be judged by a panel of astronomy related Webmasters and the award administrators.

The web sites will be judged prior to the Astronomical League Convention (ALCON), with the award recipient being announced at the convention.


Club Presidents please send nominations between January 1 and no later than April 1 to or you can mail your nomination to the following address.

Mike Rao Administrator,
Astronomical League Webmaster Award
2559 Rusk Street
Houston, Texas 77003


I am looking forward to looking at all of your Websites.

Clear skies to you all.

Mike Rao

Administrator, Astronomical League Webmaster Award




2003 winners
2004 winners
2005 winners
2006 winners
2007 winners
2008 winners

2009 Richard Richins, Astronomical Society of Las Cruces
Richard Bell, Kalamazoo Astronomical Society